Always a Protector, Never a Nurse: The Journey to Design

What makes you tick? And why?

Ever since I was young, I was fascinated with design. From journal covers, magazines, stationery, stickers, photography, posters and more, I collected and studied things that caught my eye. I never knew where my future would take me, but as a young girl, I had wondered what careers would be like as a Postal Carrier (I loved sending and receiving mail. Imagine that!), Massage Therapist, Hairdresser and an Interior Designer.

Have you ever taken the Jung Typology Test? Go ahead, do it! This free test is based on Carl Jung’s and Isabel Briggs Myers’ typological approach to personality. What does it say about you? I’m an ISFJ (defender) personality. Although, I believe I was an ESFJ (provider) years ago, both ring true to who I am and who I’ve been.

ISFJs have two basic traits which help define their best career direction: 1) they are extremely interested and in-tune with how other people are feeling, and 2) they enjoy creating structure and order, and are extremely good at it.

People with INFJ personality types tend to have the following characteristics:

  • Reliable, stable and down-to-earth
  • Enjoys order and structure
  • Dislikes conflict and confrontation
  • Kind, warm-hearted and considerate
  • Practical-minded
  • Likes concrete information
  • Very aware of other people’s feelings
  • Has a great memory for detail

ISFJs enjoy structure and strive to maintain this order in all areas of their lives. While people with this personality type are introverted and tend to be quiet, they are keen observers and are focused on other people. Because they are so perceptive, ISFJs are good at remembering details about other people. Those with this personality type are particularly well-tuned in to the emotions and feelings of others.

Careers fitting for ISFJs may include: Interior Decorator, Designer, Nurse (can’t handle blood, this wasn’t for me), Administrator/Manager, Child Care/Early Development,  Social Work, Counselors, Paralegal (not even sure what they do!), Clergy/Religious Workers, Office Manager/Shop Keeper, Bookkeeper (I’m not good with numbers), Home Economics, Librarian, Marketer (we’re getting closer), Editor, Writer, Trainer (does Personal Trainer count?), Police/Military and Actor.

Ball State University also provides great insight into careers for ISFJs.

Life after high school led me to Iowa State University where I knew I could persue my career in Interior Design. My parents and I met with academic advisors from the College of Design and I began to wonder what I would study when I was told that Interior Design is not like the shows I enjoyed watching on HGTV. What?! After a disappointing meeting, in my eyes, I began to wonder where my interest in art would take me. God sure had a plan for my life!

In three and a half years, I completed a double-major in Advertising from the Greenlee School of Journalism and an Art & Deisgn major from the College of Design at Iowa State. There were ups and downs along the journey, but God led me to the work that I would ultimately love, graphic design.

AJCreative was founded in 2007. It’s taken all of my ISFJ personality to create the business, using the roles of Designer, Office Manager, Marketer, Interior Decorator, Editor and Writer.

My Interior Designer dream never died, and AJCreative may have the chance to make it happen. More info to come!

Leave a Reply

