HGTV One Sweet Room Reveal Party | AJCreative

Just a few weeks ago, my husband and I were celebrating the premier of West End Salvage at the Fleur Cinema with our friends, family and the West End Salvage crew. Didn’t hear about the show? More photos of our HGTV adventure are on their way!

Wel, the show aired and it was now time to throw a party! After keeping our room a secret for several months, we now had the chance to entertain and show it off.

Champagne and sweets were bound to make this one tasty celebration. I designed custom invitations for our party. Guests were mailed confetti-inspired invitations that provided a glimpse into the style of our event. The invitations were mailed in kraft envelopes and sealed with gold stripe washi tape. I printed our return address in a coordinating dark brown ink on the back flap.

Custom Wedding Invitations Des Moines Iowa | HGTV RevealCustom Wedding Invitations Des Moines Iowa | HGTV RevealCustom Wedding Invitations Des Moines Iowa | HGTV RevealCustom Wedding Invitations Des Moines Iowa | HGTV Reveal

From party planning, designing, food styling and photography, I was a bit overwhelmed. As a independent designer for Minted, I turned to them for help with a few party decor pieces. They have gorgeous party decor designs for birthdays, holidays, weddings, baby showers and more. The designs are created by independent designers, like me, from around the world. I ordered bunting banners, table confetti, table signs, paper plates and napkins. Super simple! I then created my own food flags, table signs and treat table name cards to coordinate.

Custom Wedding Invitations Des Moines Iowa | HGTV Reveal

One table dedicated to all things sweet set the stage beautifully for the evening. Colors of white, gold, cream and dark brown made for a deliciously inviting setting.

I filled plates, platters, cake stands and vases with cupcakes, donuts, cookies, marshmallows, chocolates, puppy chow and more. Talk about eye candy!

I managed to locate a few sweets I’ve never seen before. That’s what happens when you never shop in the candy and cookie. Caramel and vanilla marshmallows? Cookies and cream puppy chow? Hello! And for the cupcakes, I called the pros.

After hearing rave reviews about a new shop in West Des Moines, I called Scratch Cupcakery and placed my order. Four of Saturday’s featured flavors included Peanut Butter Cup, Wedding Day, Vanilla Mocha and Dulce de Leche. I unboxed the mini cupcakes and topped them with my custom food flags. By word of my husband, they were delish. I’m still holding out for their gluten-free line to be introduced.

Custom Wedding Invitations Des Moines Iowa | HGTV RevealCustom Wedding Invitations Des Moines Iowa | HGTV RevealCustom Wedding Invitations Des Moines Iowa | HGTV RevealCustom Wedding Invitations Des Moines Iowa | HGTV RevealCustom Wedding Invitations Des Moines Iowa | HGTV Reveal

Beyond sweets, white wines and champagne were served on a mirrored-glass tray and healthier food options were placed throughout our kitchen.

Custom Wedding Invitations Des Moines Iowa | HGTV Reveal

Although I will be revealing more photos and details about our basement makeover, I did snap a few photos to give you all a sneak peek. I also created a photo collage from a vintage crib spring and clipped my pics on with mini wooden clothes pins.

Custom Wedding Invitations Des Moines Iowa | HGTV RevealCustom Wedding Invitations Des Moines Iowa | HGTV Reveal

The day after the party is when I realized that I failed to snap photos with my parents, my aunt and uncle and friends that I had not seen in a long time. Someone else should have been on photo duty for the night. One can only do so much.

All in all, the party was super sweet. So, cheers to the first season of West End Salvage. We can’t wait for season two!

Leave a Reply

